My Favorite Things about the South: Summer Peaches

There’s just something special about a perfectly ripe peach. When you first bite in, it’s slight fuzzy on the outside, and then your teeth sink into the soft interior as the juice squirts down your chin, and the sweetness fills your mouth, reminding you that it is another beautiful and delicious summer in the South.
I used to enjoy my peaches only in their purist form, preferring to eat mine whole, and in multiples, standing over the kitchen sink. I’ve never particularly liked my peaches cooked, the sweet flesh diminished to a gushy, unidentifiable mush, the flavor overpowered by an overly-sweet topping or syrup. But I recently discovered a peach recipe that I could sink my teeth into.
A friend and fellow foodie shared this recipe, which was inspired by a dish eaten at Marché Artisan Foods in Nashville.

Toast with Peaches and Ricotta
2 thick slices hearty wheat bread
¼ cup whole milk ricotta cheese
Ground Saigon cinnamon
1 medium very ripe peach
Honey (I prefer Tupelo, naturally…)

Toast bread. Spread about 2 tablespoons ricotta onto each slice of bread, and sprinkle with cinnamon. Slice peach into very thin slices. Layer slices evenly over each piece of bread. Drizzle with desired amount of honey, and sprinkle lightly with additional cinnamon.

One thought on “My Favorite Things about the South: Summer Peaches

Leave a Reply

